Team of the Year

A.K. Saville Team of the Year
for 2016-2017

Sponsored by:


2016-2017 GBA Team of the Year
revised thru Jackson
1 Rescue Smokers 142
2 Holy Smokes 141
3 92 BBQ/Assassin Smokers 131
4 Southern Hogs 128
5 Captain Jacks Freedom BBQ 108
6 Smokin’ the Good Stuff 87
7 Budmeisters 68
8 tie Bull Rush BBQ 55
8 tie Rub Shakers Que 55
10 We Want Que 54
11 tie Hootie Q 48
11 tie The Grill Man BBQ Company 48
13 Real South BBQ 45
14 Raging Smoke BBQ 42
15 Just Smokin’ Around 41
16 Just Blowing Smoke 39
17 tie Hold Your Horses BBQ 38
17 tie Wooley Bully BBQ Mafia 38
19 QueNut 35
20 2 Smokin Phat Boyz 34
21 tie Johnson Boys BBQ 29
21 tie Old Henry’s BBQ 29
23 Daddy-O’s BBQ 28
24 tie Barnyard BBQ 26
24 tie Hard Rock Hill BBQ 26
24 tie The BBQ Ninja 26
27 tie Fatboys of Tenneson Nissan 25
27 tie Kelvins BBQ 25
29 Poverty Hill Smokers 24
30 Bubba Grills 23


Each contest that the team enters earns the team 5 participation points regardless of the number of categories the team enters.

Full Standings Here

There are three ways to earn team points:

  1. In all three categories (the Ribs, Pulled Pork, and Loin) teams are awarded placement points for a top ten finish. 1st place earns 10 points, 2nd place earns 9 points, and 3rd place earns 8 points and so on until 10th place earns 1 point.
    1st place Ribs = 10 points
    5th place Pulled pork = 6 points
    3rd place Pork Loin = 8 points
  2. Five (5) bonus points are awarded to the teams that wins the Grand Championship and the Reserve Grand Championship.

The GBA contest year begins in September each year. For the 2015-2016 season, there will be three (3) contests that award double TOTY points.  For 2015-2016, double points contests will be in Griffin (Sept), Walton Co (March) and Hazlehurst (May).

At the end of year GBA Banquet, usually in August, the Team of the Year is recognized as the team with the most points accumulated throughout the year. The GBA awards banners and cash prizes to the Top 10 teams and awards banners to the 11th place to 20th place teams from the just completed contest year.  In addition, the GBA awards a Team of the Year banner to the top 5 teams in each of the 3 categories. Recognition is also given to the 2nd through 5th place teams in each category.


















%d bloggers like this: